Conferences

Live Stream Event

 

Can't meet us in Long Beach, Calif.? No worries — we'll deliver two days of our conference directly to you! On Thursday, March 26 and Friday, March 27, we are offering two full days of courses available online via live stream. You can earn up to 11.0 CE contact hours,  of which 4.5 are pharmacology for just $250 for both days or $125 for one day (non-members pay $350 for two days and $175 for one day). 

Our live stream option is great for students looking for education beyond their institutions' available courses. The student members pay $200 for two days and $100 for one day.

Conference Schedule: Conference events will be taking place in the Pacific time zone. 
Day 1- March 26, 2020
11 a.m.-Noon ET/10 -11 a.m. CT/9-10 a.m. MT/8-9 a.m. PT - (1.0 contact hour) 
200: Spotting the Zebras: Decision Bias and Case Analysis on Primary Care Presentations with Severe DiagnosesRebecca Carson, DNP, CPNP
Decision bias occurs when a provider allows information from the history to shape their impressions of a patient rather than the facts themselves, which can result in misdiagnosis. This presentation utilizes case studies of patients that presented with severe diagnoses masked as primary care complaints to explore decision bias. It will remind NPs to keep the differential diagnosis broad during their history/physical, look for red flags and avoid pitfalls leading to diagnostic error. 

1-2 p.m. ET/Noon-1 p.m. CT/11 a.m.-Noon MT/10-11 a.m. PT - (1.0 contact hour/1.0 Rx hour) 
203: General Session: 2020 Immunization Update - Mary Beth Koslap-Petraco, DNP, PPCNP-BC, CPNP, FAANP
While sharing the latest CDC immunization information, Dr. Koslap-Petraco will share real life experiences and case studies to engage and challenge you to educate and vaccinate your patient families, especially those who question the need for vaccines.

2:10 –3:10 p.m. ET/1:10 -2:10 p.m. CT/12:10-1:10 p.m. MT/11:10 a.m.-12:10 p.m. PT  - (1.0 contact hour) 
204: General Session: Addressing the Youth Tobacco Use Epidemic: Stop Tweens and Teens from Becoming “Nicoteens” - Laura Searcy, MN, APRN, PPCNP-BC
Tobacco product use among children, adolescents and teens in any form is unsafe and can cause lasting harm. Youth e-cigarette use has become a national epidemic, and our kids are being enticed by a rapidly diversifying class of sleek and modern flavored tobacco product delivery devices, including e-cigarettes and the new “heat not burn” tobacco product. The high nicotine content pod-based devices are addicting children in record numbers. Evidence links youth e-cigarette use to increased risks for use of other tobacco products, including cigarettes, and misuse of other substances. There is also emerging evidence of other harms including severe pulmonary disease. This fast-paced multi-media presentation will provide you with the tools you need to engage families and youth in your practice sites, schools and communities on this important threat to our young people’s health and well-being.

4:45–6 p.m. ET/3:45-5:00 p.m. CT/2:45-4 p.m. MT/1:45-3 p.m. PT - (1.25 contact hour/1.25 Rx hours) 
208: 2020 Pediatric Antibiotic Prescribing Update - Teri Moser Woo, PhD, CPNP-PC, CNL, FAANP
Antibiotics are the most commonly prescribed medications in pediatrics. This presentation will review current antibiotic resistance patterns and provide a rapid-fire review of current guidelines for prescribing antibiotics for pediatric patients.

6:20-7:35 p.m. ET/5:20-6:35 p.m. CT/4:20-5:35 p.m. MT/3:20-4:35 p.m. PT - (1.25 contact hours/1.0 Rx hours) 
216: Update: Pharmacogenomics and Behavioral Health - Kimberly Erlich, MSN, RN, MPH, CPNP, PMHS
Pharmacogenomics involves an understanding of how individual genetic factors impact treatment and disease-related outcomes. The high prevalence of behavioral disorders underscores the need for pediatric clinicians to gain an understanding of the rationale for the use of pharmacogenomic testing. This presentation helps pediatric clinicians stay current about technologies available as diagnostic, decision-support and clinical management aids, thereby supporting their ability to offer the most current evidence-based interventions possible. If you've always felt pharmacogenomics is too complicated to integrate into daily practice, this presentation is for you.

7:45-8:45 p.m. ET/6:45-7:45 p.m. CT/5:45-6:45 p.m. MT/4:45-5:45 p.m. PT - (1.0 contact hour/0.25 Rx hours) 
225: Getting Back in the Game: Treating Chronic Pain in Adolescents - Helen Gutin, MSN, CPNP and Carrie Kreuer, APRN, CPNP-AC/PC
This presentation will provide education in identifying common chronic pain conditions and underlying pathophysiologies, review medications and other treatment modalities including interdisciplinary and integrative approaches and identify resources for NPs. It will also review other less common chronic pain conditions including POTS, CRPS, conversion disorder and the roles that anxiety, depression and sleep issues play in chronic pain. You will learn when to refer to pediatric pain specialists and get an overview of multidisciplinary treatment for adolescents who have significant impairment in their daily functioning due to chronic pain. 

Day 2- March 27, 2020
11 a.m.-Noon ET/10-11 a.m. CT/9-10 a.m. MT/8-9 a.m. PT - (1.0 contact hour) 
302: Keeping Up With the Kid-RASH-ians - Cassandra Newell, MSN, CPNP
This presentation includes an interactive, visual overview of 8-10 case-based, pediatric dermatologic scenarios from a pediatric emergency department. We will review the diagnosis of each case and their differential diagnoses. Practical treatment plans for each case will be discussed to aid providers in the future.  

1:30-2:30 p.m. ET/12:30-1:30 p.m. CT/11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. MT/10:30-11:30 a.m. PT - (1.0 contact hour/0.25 Rx hour) 
310: Worrying, Fear and Angst: How to Identify and Treat Anxiety in Children and Teens - Susan Van Cleve, DNP, RN, CPNP-PC, PMHS, FAANP
The purpose of this presentation is to review how to assess, diagnose and treat anxiety in children and adolescents in pediatric primary care settings. The speaker will present the use of screening tools including how to score and utilize them in practice. We will identify evidence-based treatment options, including non-pharmacologic and pharmacologic treatment.

4:10–5:25 p.m. ET/3:10-4:25 p.m. CT/2:10-3:25 p.m. MT/1:10-2:25 p.m. PT - (1.25 contact hours/ 0.25 Rx hours) 
319: Sleep, ‘The Golden Chain’: Assessment & Behavioral or Pharmacologic Treatment of Sleep Problems - Bridget Gramkowski, MS, CPNP and Victoria Keeton, MS, RN, CNS, CPNP-PC
Thomas Dekker wrote “Sleep is the golden chain that ties health and our bodies together." Numerous conditions can impact sleep, and many pharmacologic interventions used to treat chronic illnesses can also impact sleep. In this presentation, we will provide tips for improved identification of sleep problems and review current best practices in both behavioral and pharmacologic treatment of sleep problems. Presenters will share a few evidence-based recommendations for the management of sleep disorders, including both behavioral and pharmacological therapies.

5:45–7 p.m. ET/4:45-6 p.m. CT/3:45-5 p.m. MT/2:45-4 p.m. PT - (1.25 contact hour/0.5 Rx hours) 
325: Atopic Dermatitis Treatment: The Old, The New and The Trending - Rebecca Flynn, RN, APRN, CPNP and Stephanie Kronberg, MSN
Topical steroids, moisturizers and sensitive skin care products remain the gold standard for treatment of atopic dermatitis. However, new topical and systemic medications have recently been approved by the FDA for the treatment of atopic dermatitis. We will discuss popular trending treatments for atopic dermatitis, including coconut oil, sunflower oil, essential oils and the latest social media trends. Come explore the best treatment options for your patients with atopic dermatitis from the old, the new and the trending.

Schedule note: There are breaks between all sessions, with a larger break between Noon-1 p.m. ET/11 a.m.- Noon CT/10-11 a.m. MT/9-10 a.m. PT on both days; 3:10-4:45 p.m. ET/2:10-3:45 p.m. CT/1:10 p.m.-2:45 p.m. MT/12:10-1:45 p.m. PT on Thursday, March 26 and 2:30-4:10 p.m. ET/1:30-3:10 p.m. CT/12:30-2:10 p.m. MT/11:30 a.m.-1:10 p.m. PT on Friday, March 27. Participants can remain idle or exit the page between sessions. If participants exit, the streaming page may remember them upon their return, or the participant can login again without any issues.

Refund Policy

We will be happy to refund your registration fees if we receive your cancellation in writing via mail, fax or email before March 17, 2020. We cannot accept telephone cancellations. A $50 administrative fee will apply to all refunds.  There are no refunds for cancellations for the Live Stream event after March 17, 2020 (no exceptions). No-shows will not be refunded.