All news

National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners Honors Nurses for Outstanding Service in Children’s Healthcare

Apr 02, 2012

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                    



Heather Gartman, 202-413-4226


NAPNAP announces recipients of 2012 awards at National Conference in San Antonio, TX


CHERRY HILL, NJ – The extraordinary contributions of pediatric nurse practitioners (PNPs) took center stage at the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (NAPNAP; 33rd Annual Conference on March 29, 2012, in San Antonio, TX. As in previous years, the organization honored nurses from the grassroots to the national level with scholarships, grants, and awards.


Over 1,500 pediatric nurses and other health care providers attended the NAPNAP conference, which was held at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. The awards ceremony was held on Thursday, March 29, 2012.


NAPNAP’s most prestigious honor, the Loretta C. Ford Distinguished Fellow Award was presented to Patsy Stinchfield, MSN CPNP of St. Paul, MN. Named in honor of Dr. Loretta C. Ford, pioneer and co-founder of the nurse practitioner role, this award is presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to furthering the role of the PNP and children’s health on the local level. Candidates are nominated by peers and selected by a vote of NAPNAP’s Executive Board.


The 2012 President’s Award was given to Mary Chesney, PhD, RN, CPNP of Plymouth, MN for outstanding service during President Cheri Barber’s administration.


NAPNAP 2012 award recipients are as follows:




NAPNAP Chapter Growth Awards

*CA: Orange County
*MD: Chesapeake

Chapter Philanthropic Award

*Small Chapter: Oregon  
*Large Chapter: Michigan



SIG Philanthropic Award

* Developmental Behavioral and Mental Health SIG


Outstanding SIG Award

Breastfeeding Education SIG,  Geraldine Fitzgerald, MSN, CPNP, Garret Park, MD  Chair

Kathleen Logan, MSN, CPNP, Co-Chair, Arlington, VA


Acute Care SIG Scholar Award

Lauren Sorce,  MSN, RN, CPNP-AC/PC, FCCM, Park Ridge, IL


Acute Care SIG Student Award

Darcie Hayden, MSN, RN, CPNP-PC, Milwaukee, WI


Breastfeeding Education SIG Continuing Education Award

Kristin McHarg, MSN, CPNP, Fairfax Station, VA


Breastfeeding Education SIG IBLCE Exam Award

Senecca Kirkhart, MSN, CPNP, South Boston, VA


School-Based Health Care SIG Award

Nan Gaylord, PhD, RN, CPNP, Knoxville, TN

Bridgetta Devlin, MSN, CPNP, Pittsburg, PA




Research Poster Award

Kathleen Sawin, PhD, RN, CPNP, Glendale, WI


Practice Innovation Poster Award

* Suzanne Porfyris, MSN, PNP-BC, Chicago, IL



2011 Ellen Rudy Clore Excellence in Research Writing Award


*Brenda Broger, MSN, RN, ARNP-C and Mary Beth Zeni, ScD, “Fathers’ Coping Mechanisms Related to Parenting a Chronically Ill Child: Implications for Advanced Practice Nurses” – Journal of Pediatric Health Care, March/April 2011


2011 Leah Harrison Excellence in Clinical Writing Award

* Christina Jackson, PhD, PNP, AHN-C, Kristen McLaughlin, MSN, RN, CRNP, and Beverly Teti for their article “Back Pain in Children: A Holistic Approach to Diagnosis and Management” – Journal of Pediatric Health Care, September/October 2011


2011 Nelms Mullins Department Editor Award

* Juanita Dale, PhD, RN, CPNP, Grand Prairie, TX





Grassroots Advocacy Award

Barbara Schaffner, PhD, CPNP, Galena, OH


Loretta C. Ford Leadership Development Award

Julia Berndt, New Haven, CT


Nurse in Washington Internship (NIWI)

Chaka Batley, MSN, RN, CPNP, Fowler, IL

Mandi Cafasso, MSN, RN, CPNP, Cincinnati, OH

Kristin Hittle, MSN, RN, CPNP-AC, CCRN, Fort Worth, TX

Dawn Saldano, MSN, APN, CPNP

Michelle Wilson, MS, CNP, APRN-BC, CPNP-AC, Hudson, OH

Kerry Zebold, MSN, RN, CPNP, APN, Darien, IL


Reckitt Benckiser Student Scholarship

Kelly Hebl Garcia, BS, Plano, TX

Carin Hanson, BSN, RN, Los Angeles, CA


Reckitt Benckiser Member Scholarship

Rhonda Hertwig, MSN, CPNP, Zirconia, NC

Julie Allison Watson Ko, MSNc, APN, CPNP-PC, Rogers, AR


Foundation Research Grant

Deborah L. Torowicz, MSN, RN, Manasquan, NJ


Foundation Rural & Underserved Scholarship

Sara Baumgart, MSN, RN, Winslow, IN


Foundation Student Travel Scholarship

Jamelah Tangara, Pittsburgh, PA

Jennifer Jacobs, Durham, NC

Jami Pavlak, Denver, CO


Innovative Health Care Grant

Gayle Higgins, MSN, CRNP, AE-C, Palmyra, NJ


Abbott Nutrition DNP Capstone Grant

* Angelia Harman, Gainesville, VA

* Ashley Tuttle, Wesley Chapel, FL

* Audra Rankin, Louisville, KY

* Jennifer Platt, Lakeville, MN

* Michelle Schweitzer, Raleigh, NC

* Sara Romanski, Minneapolis, MN


Foundation Scholarships and Books

* Michelle Byers, Litchfield Park, AZ

* Lei-Lani White, Mesa, AZ

* Lisa Propper, Callahan, FL

* Melanie Perera, Pacifica, CA

* Margaret Mirch, Cambridge, MA


Other Awards


Health Policy Internship Program

* Karen KellyThomas, PhD, RN, CAE, FAAN, Little Egg Harbor, NJ




AFPNP 2012 Excellence in Nursing Research Award

* Cynthia A. Danford, PhD, RN, PNP-BC, CPNP-PC, Trenton, MI


AFPNP 2012 Outstanding PNP Preceptor Award

* Heather Lane, DNP, RN, CPNP-PC, Buckeye, AZ


Pediatric Nursing Certification Board (PNCB) Acute Care (CPNP®) Certification Advocate Award

* Beth Nachtsheim Bolick, DNP, CPNP-AC, Evanston, IL


Pediatric Nursing Certification Board (PNCB) Primary Care CPNP® Certification Advocate Award

* Kathryn A. Sheehan, MSN, ARNP, CCRN, CPNP-AC/PC, St. Petersburg, FL






The National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (NAPNAP) is the nation’s professional association of pediatric nurse practitioners and advanced practice nurses dedicated to improving the quality of health care for infants, children, adolescents and young adults. Representing more than 7,500 healthcare practitioners nationwide with active chapters in 48 states, NAPNAP has been actively advocating for children’s health since 1973. For more information, contact Heather Gartman at 202-413-4226/ or visit 


Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark

NAPNAP News Feed

Subscribe to the NAPNAP News Feed!